District Convention

2022 IDE District Convention


The 41st Convention of the Iowa District East – LCMS took place June 24-25, 2022 at the Cedar Rapids Marriott. Rev. Dr. Brian Saunders (Cedar Rapids) was elected on the first ballot to his 5th term as District President, with Rev. W. Max Mons, S.T.M. (Iowa City) being elected to 1st Vice-President and Rev. Michael Knox (Cedar Falls) elected as 2nd Vice-President. Rev. Dr. Peter Scaer of Concordia Theological Seminary – Ft. Wayne was the convention Essayist. LCMS 4th Vice-President Dr. John Wohlrabe brought synod greetings and the LCMS President’s Report. Rev. Dr. James Baneck, Executive Director of Pastor Formation for the LCMS also spoke on the Set Apart To Serve initiative.


In other elections news, two new Board of Directors officers were elected. Rev. Peter Hoft (Eldridge) was elected as Secretary and Mr. Zach Rowley (Cedar Rapids) was elected as Treasurer. Rev. Andrew Gray (Marengo) was elected to the Ordained Minister to the IDE Board of Directors, while Mr. Roger Zoske (Hubbard) and Mr. Jim Swales (Center Point) were elected as laymen to the IDE Board of Directors.


For the Constitutional Review Commitee, Rev. Gary Sears (Conroy) was elected as an ordained member and Mr. Joshua McNary was elected as the layperson. For the 2025 Nominating Committee, Rev. Samuel Beltz (Oksaloosa) and Rev. James Preus (Ottumwa) were elected as ordained members, Mr. Tony Dixon DCE (Cedar Rapids) was elected as a commissioned member, and Mr. Samuel Kleiss (Cedar Falls) and Mr. Mark Platte (Waverly) were elected as lay members.


Delegates adopted two resolutions:


  • 1.01A – To Recommend and Encourage the Study of “Cremation and the Christian” prepared by the CTCR of the Lutheran Church Canada for study to IDE Pastors and Congregations, and to direct the District’s Worship Committee to prepare a companion Study Guide for “Cremation and The Christian” to be made available to the Pastors and Congregations of the District and;


  • 1.02A – To Refrain from the Practice of Online Communion, commending the CTCR for their sound, scriptural guidance on the issue of online Communion, ensuring that those Pastors and Congregations who continue to practice online Communion, after due fraternal admonition, be subject to appropriate ecclesiastical counsel and instruction, and that those who are hindered for a time from bodily participation in Holy Communion be encouraged to content themselves with the exercise of faith in the Lord Jesus Christ. (see Ps. 91; Jonah 4:11)” (CC19 p. 3–4).

Convention Proceedings and Workbook 


The convention proceedings for the 2022 Iowa District East – LCMS District Convention are in production. The workbook for the 41st Iowa District East – LCMS District Convention remains available. For those delegates who elected to receive a printed copy, they were mailed to your congregation in late-May (Bylaw 12.3.1). Please click the button below to view the workbook, which has been updated (6/6/2022) with the overtures from the floor committee.