About Us

Lutheran Church Missouri SynodIowa District East of
The Lutheran Church Missouri Synod

1100 Blairs Ferry Rd
Marion, IA 52302-3093

Phone: 319.373.2112
Fax: 319.373.9827

The members of Iowa District East are congregations and ministries located within the eastern half of Iowa.

Congregations: 118
Baptized Members: 43,211
Communicant Members: 34,016
Preschools: 28
Elementary Schools: 8
High School: 1

Office Staff

Rev. Dr. Brian Saunders
District President

Rev. Dr. Dean Rothchild
Assistant to the President

Sherry Brendes
Business/Office Manager

Pam Krog
Administrative Assistant/Receptionist

District Staff

Jan Doellinger
Assistant to the President – Schools

Corey Nuehring

Carole White
LCEF Representative for Iowa

Members of the IDE Board of Directors

Rev. Dr. Brian Saunders, President, IDE Office, Marion

Rev. W. Max Mons, First Vice-President, St. Paul’s Chapel, Iowa City

Rev. Dr. Matthew Rueger, Chairman, Second Vice-President, St. John, Hubbard

Rev. Mark Brase, Secretary, Immanuel, Fairfield

Rev. Peter Hoft, Assistant Secretary, Park View, Eldridge

Mr. Corey Nuehring, Treasurer, IDE Office, Marion

Mr. Lowell Schroeder, Assistant Treasurer, IDE Office, Marion

Rev. Michael Knox, Ordained, Member at Large, Our Redeemer / Christ/ Peace , Cedar Falls / Waterloo / Shell Rock

Mr. Paul Zoske, Member at Large, Iowa Falls

Mr. James Swales, Member at Large, Center Point

Mr. David Eastburn, Member at Large, Fairfield

Advisory Members

Rev. Dr. Dean Rothchild, Assistant to the President, IDE Office, Marion

Mrs. Jan Doellinger, Assistant to the President – Schools