

lowa District East

The Lutheran Church Missouri Synod

September 15, 2014

Dear Congregation of Iowa District East,

The **39th District Convention of the Iowa District East** will be held June 26-27, 2015 at the Marriott Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, 1200 Collins Rd. NE, Cedar Rapids, IA 52402. "Witness, Mercy, Life Together: Missions: The Church in Motion" is the theme for the convention.

District conventions afford opportunities for worship, Bible study, fellowship and the communication of important information, along with elections and District business. It is the duty and privilege of congregations and professional church workers as members of Synod to participate in the convention process. Convention information and forms may be found at Lorentz Convention and Memorials is January 30, 2015.

The deadline for Delegates, Nominations and Memorials is January 30, 2015.

District Convention Delegates

Each parish is to be represented by two delegates, an ordained pastor and a layman. These delegates and an alternate lay delegate are to be elected by the congregation(s) and reported to the District Office by January 30, 2015. The Delegate Reporting Form is attached.

District Convention delegates also have the responsibility to elect the next Synod President prior to and apart from the 2016 Synod Convention or its delegates. Only District Convention delegates duly elected, reported and attending the District Convention will be permitted to vote for Synod President.

Circuit Visitor Nominations & Elections

Congregations of a Circuit as well as the District President may nominate a pastor who is a member of one of the congregations of the Circuit and may be an assistant or emeriti. The Circuit Visitor will be selected by a Circuit Forum and ratified by the District Convention, as outlined in Synod Bylaw 5.2.2 (2013 LCMS Handbook, page 197).

District Presidium Nominations

Each District congregation is entitled to nominate from the Clergy Roster of the District two ordained pastors as candidates for each of the following positions: District President, 1st Vice President and 2nd Vice President. Presidium Ballot Forms are attached or available on the District website. The form shall be signed by the President and Secretary of the voting congregations and sent to the District Secretary at 710 W Tyler Ave, Fairfield, IA 52556. Please note: Rev. Dr. Rueger has served the limit of four terms and is not eligible to be nominated as 1st Vice President.

District Officer & Board Nominations

Nominations are also being solicited for officer, board and committee positions by the Nominating Committee. See the enclosed Official Notice for details.

Memorials, including recommendations of triennial mission and emphases may be submitted by congregations, boards, circuits, etc. Again the deadline for delegates, nominations and memorials is **January 30, 2015.**

In Christ,

Rev. Mark H. Brase, District Secretary

Rev Mach Il Brace